Latest News

Solihull Together 2017 Awards Finalists Revealed

Organisers have released details of the finalists for the Solihull Together 2017 Awards.  Now in their third year, the Awards attracted over 100 nominations celebrating the dedication of Solihull residents, health and care professionals and local organisations who provide outstanding care and support to adults in the borough.


Winners in each category will be revealed at the awards ceremony which will be held at the Renewal Conference Centre, Lode Lane, Solihull on the afternoon of Friday 31st March.  Tickets are available from


Cllr Bob Sleigh OBE, Leader of Solihull Council will open the awards and welcome the Rt Hon Jacqui Smith, Interim Chair of Heart of England NHS Foundation Trust who will compere the ceremony again this year.


The named category finalists were announced as follows:


Care Professional of the Year

Darren Townsend, Rough Sleeper Outreach Worker

Oswald Morgan, Key Worker Early Help Service, Solihull Council

Pete Duffield, RAID Team, Birmingham and Solihull Mental Health NHS Foundation Trust (BSMHFT)


Care Team of the Year

Dermatology Department, Solihull Hospital

Housekeeping & Laundry Team, Royal Star & Garter Homes, Solihull

Solihull Early Intervention Service, BSMHFT

Solihull Community Respiratory Team, Heart of England NHS Foundation Trust (HEFT)

STEPS (Support Towards Employment Progression & Satisfaction), Solihull Council


Collaborative Working

Geriatric Optimisation & Liaison Service Before Surgery (GOALS), HEFT

Macmillan Palliative Care Therapy Team, HEFT

Solihull Community Housing (SCH) Wellbeing Service & Better Living Centre


Solihull Integrated Addiction Service (SIAS)


Dementia-friendly Service

Enhanced Recovery at Home, HEFT

Silver Birches Residential Home

Solihull Specialist Care Dental Service, HEFT


Health Professional of the Year

Dr Anand Chitnis, The Castle Practice

Ann White, Solihull Community Services, HEFT

Geraldine Russell, Specialist Special Care Dentistry Service, HEFT

Jackie Gale, Admiral Nurse, BSMHFT

Jacqui Rea, Croft Medical Centre

Rebecca Billingsley, Solihull CCG/Macmillan Cancer Support


Inspiring Leader

Karen Lewis, Deputy Therapy Lead, HEFT

Linda Murphy, Service Manager, SMBC

Phillip Hall, Senior Nurse Dementia, HEFT

Rev Neil Roberts, Chelmsley Wood Baptist Church

Suzi Thomas, Team Manager, SIAS


Local Hero

Christine Logan, Director Act on Dementia CIC

Libby Servis, voluntary work

Martin Shalley, voluntary work at The Hampton Gym and Marie Curie Hospice

Maureen Johnson, Carer Governor, BSMHFT

Millie Skinner, Founder member Friends of Solihull Hospital


Outstanding Community Project

Gro Organic

MAN v FAT football

Solihull Borough Talking Newspapers Association

Solihull Fire Station/Safe and Well visits


Outstanding Customer Care

Homes Library Service, Solihull Council  

Solihull Community Housing (SCH) Wellbeing Service

Solihull Connect

Solihull Integrated Addiction Service (SIAS)


Primary Care Service of the Year

Bernays and Whitehouse Medical Partnership

Care Navigator Service, Age UK Solihull

Coventry Road Surgery


Chairman’s Award

The Solihull Together Chairman’s Award is given by the Awards Judging Panel to an individual or organisation that has demonstrated outstanding commitment to improving the lives of Solihull citizens.   This year the judges have shortlisted three people for the award:

Amy Jackson, The Lily Mae Foundation

Andrew Shanahan, MAN v FAT

Jackie Gale, Admiral Nurse


Visit for more details about the Awards ceremony.





We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website.
If you continue to use the site, we'll assume you are happy to receive all cookies. For details, please see our privacy policy.