The Heritage Gallery at The Core has a new exhibition called “Village People” – celebrating notable Silihillians who lived here when Solihull was still a village, and who were well-known local characters.
- “Granny Leeson” – born around 1781, who was feted for reaching the then astonishing age of 100 – and who was an inveterate pipe-smoker!
- Surgeon Dr Paul Quinet – a Belgian refugee who came to Solihull during WWI, and whose name lives on in Quinet House on the Warwick Road.
- Miss Nan Deebank – who ran the much-remembered village toy shop on Solihull’s High Street.
- Charles Bragg – Captain of Solihull’s Volunteer Fire Brigade at the end of the 19th Century.
The Heritage Gallery is also marking the 50th anniversary of the opening of Mell Square, with an exhibition illustrating the tremendous impact of what was called “Solihull’s Heart Transplant” on the development of the town.
The exhibition includes specially-digitised cine-film footage, taken “dashcam”-style by Mr R.E. Cooper in 1963. This fascinating sequence goes building by building along Mill Lane, Warwick Road, Drury Lane and High Street showing the streetscapes that would shortly disappear in the new vision for the town centre.
Both exhibitions will stay up until the end of September.
The Heritage Gallery is curated by the Heritage and Local Studies Team of Solihull Libraries, Arts and Information.