Election – Thursday 4 July  


The General Election for Members of Parliament is taking place on Thursday 4 July across the UK.  

The deadline to register to vote is Tuesday 18 June at 11:59pm.  

Changes to Parliamentary constituency boundaries have resulted in three constituencies covering the Solihull borough, these are: Solihull West and Shirley, Meriden and Solihull East, Birmingham Hodge Hill and Solihull North. To check which constituency you live in, visit the Boundary Commission’s website.  

For those unable to vote in person, you can apply for a postal or proxy vote. Apply for a postal vote by Wednesday 19 June at 5pm, apply for a proxy vote (someone voting on your behalf) by Wednesday 26 June at 5pm.  

Voters need to make sure to bring photo ID to the polling station, for a list of valid IDs see here. If you don’t have one of these forms of ID you can apply for a free voter ID document, known as a Voter Authority Certificate by Wednesday 26 June at 5pm.    

Details of who is standing for election in each constituency will be published at 5pm on Friday 7 June.