Equality Legislation

Consolidating and simplifying existing legislation on equality, The Equality Act 2010 came into force on 1 October 2010.

We publish both our equality information and objectives.

Aiming to ensure fair treatment for everyone at all times, the act includes legislation which prevents discrimination and harassment against disability, race and sex. To achieve this, the act identified 9 protected characteristics which are:

  • age
  • disability
  • gender reassignment
  • marriage and civil partnership
  • pregnancy and maternity
  • race
  • religion and belief
  • sex
  • sexual orientation

The Public Sector Equality Duty

The Equality Act 2010 (in section 149) established the public sector equality duty, which replaces the race, disability and gender equality duties. It is made up of a general equality duty, supported by specific duties.

The general equality duty came into force in April 2011 and covers the protected characteristics. It applies not only to public authorities, such as Solihull Council, but also to organisations that exercise public functions on their behalf, such as contractors.

In summary, those subject to the general equality duty must have due regard to the need to:

  • eliminate unlawful discrimination, harassment and victimisation
  • advance equality of opportunity between different groups
  • foster good relations between different groups.